Register

Bernina Glaciers Marathon

Unique, Challenging and Spectacular

– the Bernina Glaciers Marathon

The king’s course of the Bernina Ultraks runs over the marathon distance of 42.2 KM in front of the spectacular glacier scenery of Piz Bernina and Piz Palü. The runners of the spectacular highlight course not only have to master the almost 2,600 meters in altitude, but also face the challenge of constantly changing terrain.

Because this course has everything that makes a runner’s heart beat faster: At the beginning, you’ll head out of Pontresina onto the first trails along the UNESCO World Heritage route of the Rhaetian Railway in the direction of Morteratsch. After this, the trail leads you into the Bernina glacier massif, where you have to be prepared for subsoil made of scree from the glacial moraines in the high mountain landscape. The trail continues over the Morteratsch and Pers glaciers towards the Diavolezza. After the ascent, you will reach the highest point of the route, the Diavolezza mountain station at 3,003 m, THE vantage point of the Bernina Group. After the following downhill you will experience another ascent to Fuorcla Pischa, passing Alp Languard through the ibex paradise of Pontresina. A final, crisp climb to the Segantini Hut awaits you, and finally the final highlight of this extraordinary trail, a fantastic view over the entire Upper Engadine. A final downhill then takes you towards the finish in the center of Pontresina.

The Facts

42,2km / 2.600hm

  • Start: Saturday, July 2, 2022, 7.45 a.m.
  • Start/Finish: Pontresina: Bellavita parking lot
  • Distance: 42,2 kilometers
  • Altitude difference: 2.600m
  • Highest point: Berghaus Diavolezza – 3.003m
  • Maximum number of participants: 300
  • 2 ITRA points

Compulsory Equipment

  • Spikes for crossing the glacier
  • Rescue blanket
  • Rain or wind jacket
  • Drink container of min 0,5l
  • Mobile phone

What do you receive?

  • Trackside refreshments
  • Runners Meal
  • Luggage storage
  • GPS tracking via smartphone
  • Finisher Shirt with <<BGM>> seal
  • Medal
  • Shower

Course profile

Map loading, please wait ...

Highlights

Boval Hut

At almost 2,500m, you reach the first aid station at the Boval Hut after 10km. At the SAC refuge you can enjoy the first magnificent view of the surrounding high mountain landscape around the Piz Bernina and the Piz Palü as well as the glaciers to be crossed.

The Glaciers

After about 11km you will reach the Morterats glacier and shortly afterwards the Pers glacier. The crossing is a real highlight of the BGM and is only possible with spikes. The entire section is secured by local mountain guides and promises an extraordinary trail running experience.

Berghaus Diavolezza

The highest peak of the BGM awaits you right above the Berghaus Diavolezza at 3,000m in the middle of the “Festival Hall of the Alps”. From here you have a wonderful view of the Piz Bernina and the Piz Palü. The Diavolezza is easy to reach for all spectators by mountain railway.

Alp Languard

At 2,325m, a gigantic Alpine backdrop awaits you, including wild ibexes. The BGM runners reach Alp Languard after 33km and fortify themselves before the last hard climb to the Segantini Hut. Alp Languard is easily accessible for all spectators by chairlift.

Segantini Hut

At the Segantini hut (2,731m) you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the incomparable Engadine lake landscape and the Bernina massif. As a runner, you pass the hut at KM 35 and can fortify yourself at the last aid station for the downhill towards Pontresina.

Lead Times

Impressions

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.

Registrieren

Bernina Gletschermarathon

Einzigartig, Fordernd und Spektakulär

– der Bernina Gletschermarathon

Die Königsstrecke der Bernina Ultraks verläuft über die Marathondistanz von 42,2 KM vor der spektakulären Gletscherkulisse des Piz Bernina und des Piz Palü. Die LäuferInnen der spektakulären Highlightstrecke müssen nicht nur die knapp 2.600 Höhenmeter meistern, sondern sich auch der Herausforderung ständig wechselnden Terrains stellen.

Denn diese Strecke hat alles, was das Läuferherz höherschlagen lässt: Anfangs geht es aus Pontresina hinaus auf die ersten Trails entlang der UNESCO-Welterbestrecke der Rhätischen Bahn in Richtung Morteratsch. Hiernach führt euch der Weg ins Bernina Gletschermassiv, wobei ihr euch auf Untergrund aus Geröll der Gletschermoränen in der Hochgebirgslandschaft einstellen müsst. Der Trail verläuft weiter über den Morteratsch- und Persgletscher in Richtung hinauf zur Diavolezza. Nach dem Aufstieg erreicht ihr dann den höchsten Punkt der Strecke, die Bergstation Diavolezza auf 3.003 m, DER Aussichtspunkt der Berninagruppe. Nach dem folgenden Downhill erlebt ihr einen erneuten Anstieg zur Fuorcla Pischa lauft ihr vorbei an der Alp Languard durchs Steinbock-Paradies Pontresina. Es erwartet euch ein letzter, knackiger Anstieg zur Segantini Hütte, und schließlich das Schlusshighlight dieses außergewöhnlichen Trails, ein traumhafter Blick über das gesamte Oberengadin. Über einen letzten Downhill geht es dann Richtung Ziel im Zentrum Pontresinas.

Die Fakten

42,2km / 2.600hm

  • Start: Samstag, 2. Juli 2022, 07:45 Uhr
  • Start/Ziel: Pontresina: Parkplatz Bellavita
  • Distanz: 42,2 Kilometer
  • Höhenmeter: 2.600m
  • Höchster Punkt: Berghaus Diavolezza – 3.003m
  • Maximale Teilnehmerzahl: 350
  • ITRA-Punkte: 2

Pflichtequipment

  • Spikes für die Überquerung des Gletschers
  • Rettungsdecke
  • Regen-oder Windjacke
  • Getränkebehältnis von min 0,5l
  • Mobiltelefon

Was erhältst du?

  • Streckenverpflegung
  • Runners Meal
  • Gepäckaufbewahrung
  • GPS-Tracking per Smartphone
  • Finisher T-Shirt mit <<BGM>> Siegel
  • Medaille
  • Dusche

Streckenprofil

Karte wird geladen, bitte warten...

Highlights

Boval Hütte

Auf fast 2.500m erreicht ihr nach 10km die erste Verpflegungsstation an der Boval Hütte. An der Schutzhütte des SAC geniesst man einen ersten herrlichen Ausblick in die umgebende Hochgebirgslandschaft rund um den Piz Bernina und den Piz Palü sowie die zu überquerenden Gletscher.

Die Gletscher

Nach ca. 11km erreicht ihr den Morterats- und kurz darauf den Persgletscher. Die Überquerung ist ein echtes Highlight des BGM und ist nur mit Spikes möglich. Der gesamte Abschnitt ist von lokalen Bergführern gesichert und verspricht eine außergewöhnliche Trailrunning-Erfahrung.

Berghaus Diavolezza

Der höchste Punkt des BGM erwartet Euch oberhalb des Berghaus Diavolezza auf 3.000m inmitten des „Festsaals der Alpen“. Von hier habt ihr eine wunderbare Aussicht auf den Piz Bernina und den Piz Palü. Die Diavolezza ist für alle Zuschauer einfach mit der Bergbahn zu erreichen.

Alp Languard

Auf 2.325m erwartet Euch eine gigantische Alpenkulisse samt Steinböcken. Die Läufer des BGM erreichen die Alp Languard nach 33km und stärken sich vor dem letzten harten Anstieg zur Segantini Hütte. Die Alp Languard ist leicht für alle Zuschauer mit dem Sessellift zu erreichen.

Segantini Hütte

Auf der Segantinihütte (2.731m) geniesst man eine atemberaubende Aussicht auf die unvergleichliche Engadiner Seenlandschaft und auf das Berninamassiv. Als Läufer passierst du die Hütte bei KM 35 und kannst dich an der letzten Verpflegungsstation für den Downhill Richtung Pontresina stärken.

Durchlaufzeiten

Eindrücke

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.